Australia is located in the Southeast Pacific and is surrounded by the Indian and Pacific oceans, with a population of over 21,500,000. This island continent is the world’s driest, but is better watered in the east, southeast and southwest coastal regions, where most live in highly concentrated urban areas. The official language is English but there are over 200 spoken languages in Australia. Australia was claimed as British territory in 1829 with the creation of the colony of Western Australia. It was originally used as a penal colony. Six colonies were created in the late 18th and 19th centuries; they federated and became the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901. Since then, Australia has become one of the wealthiest nations in the world and the 12th largest economy in the world. Currently, Australia’s major religion is Christianity at roughly 70%; however, less than 15% of the population are evangelical Christians.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s