Erin, You Are Called Too…

img_7863It was these words that impacted one of the decisions I made that changed the course of my life, and even many small decisions in daily life after I heard them. Someone said this to me at a crucial time of deciding whether or not God wanted me to attend RVA, a boarding school in Kenya, instead of continuing to home school through High School at home with my family in Tanzania. My parents were missionaries in Tanzania and you see, as an MK it is easy to begin thinking that God, having had called my parents to the mission field, I was just simply along for the ride…I was along for the ride, but it was so much than that. It was not by accident that God placed me in the family he did; knowing  ALL of us would move to TZ. My parents were called to Tanzania when I was 11 years old and because God placed me in their family, I too was called to ministry with them. It was this, that convinced me to stay home through high school. I never once regretted that decision as daily, God showed me ways He was growing and teaching me and using me where he had called me with my whole family.

Some of my dearest friends growing up attended boarding school. That is where God called them, so I am not saying boarding school is the wrong choice by any stretch of the imagination. For some it is the best and God’s will. Boarding school grew and taught them, and God used them there for amazing things. What I am saying, is that God gives each of us unique callings and when we are at the center of his will there really is no better place to be.

God also used the person who shared those words with me that day to teach me that God can use our words to encourage and guide others towards His will. I am so thankful that someone took the time to share those words with me in God’s perfect timing.

So together, let’s pray that we will be sensitive and humble to hear God’s voice when he is asking us to speak up, encourage, and challenge our fellow brothers and sisters in their walk with the Lord. Also, may we ask him for sensitive hearts to see how he is using others in our lives to help direct us in the way we should go. I am thankful for the body of Christ and the beautiful way God uses individuals to touch lives for him. I have been impacted, blessed, challenged, and changed by God through his people. He knows that I will always need Him and the people he has put in my life. I am thankful for his grace patience, and the gift of his presence, guidance. Without these, I do not know where I would be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

