Remedy

946548_10201268001886460_926201553_n

Things have been building up again, tempting this originally melancholic soul to focus on them and begin the Depression spiral. Mainly it’s usually related to age (faltering memory) and my non-tech nature (smart phone demands). So during morning prayer time I asked the Lord to make one Bible verse or phrase stand out to me that I could adopt for getting through this day, as a friend told me many decades ago, “not somehow, but triumphantly!”  Well, nothing in my early Scripture reading jumped out at me ~ tempting me further to negative thoughts, but I did wisely refuse to follow that inclination and just kept doing the next thing.

            Then, while riding my stationary bike new routine, which includes reviewing my 66 Keys memorization project begun almost a decade ago,  2 Corinthians 4:7 did jump out for me: “But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, so that the surpassing greatness of the power will be of God and not from ourselves;”   Yes!  That’s it!   And since my vessel gets even more earthen with the passing of time, it was a great comfort to take it personally.  Actually had a great day, including some tiring but satisfying yard work plus two other projects now marked off the list on our kitchen cupboard.

            Praise the God of the Universe and my soul for mercies that are New Every Morning!

            ♥ ~ B

This post is written by one of missionaries, Barbara Trumbower. She lives and serves in Puerto Rico with her husband Lawrence. To learn more about their ministry visit http://www.gracem.org

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

