“It was a small glimpse into what heaven is going to be like…”

teamAs a graduating senior from Grace Bible College, I recently had the opportunity to travel to Tanzania, Africa with eight other team members to help run a worship seminar for the Tanzanian church leaders. This was an amazing experience that I will never forget, and it has impacted my life in a number of ways.

There are moments and even seasons in life that God uses to reveal to us his character and his great faithfulness. My trip to Tanzania in May was a moment at the end of one of these seasons for me. Over the course of my time at Grace, I have been learning what it means to walk by faith and trust in the Lord. This trip was an amazing opportunity for me to do just that. Imagine being in a new country, teaching voice lessons for the first time in your life to people older than you through a translator, and you can kind of get the picture that there was no way it was going to work out without God’s help! But every single day God came through for me and for the rest of my teammates. It was also no small coincidence that our team devotions every day were on different verses from Hebrews 11. The verses in this chapter about faith all encouraged me so much. This trip helped me learn to walk the path of faith, and has given me even more faith in God for my future. Having just graduated from college and not knowing where God will lead me next, I am reminded that He will again be my help and that He is faithful.

lessonsPerhaps my favorite part of the trip was worshiping God alongside the Tanzanians. The more I see of the world, the more I think that each people group expresses the character of God in a slightly different way. The Tanzanians sang so loudly and danced so unashamedly morning and night. I’ve never seen anything quite like it. It was just who they are. Not that their way of worshiping God is better or worse than the way I am used to worshiping, it is just different. It was a small glimpse into what heaven is going to be like when every tribe, nation, and tongue will worship God together. I am sure that God is going to use this experience in my future as I serve him in music ministry.

Kali LaHaie was born in Michigan, and currently lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan. After high school, she went to Grand Valley for a year, but then felt called to go into music ministry. She then transferred to Grace. There, she has spent the last three years and just graduated from the worship arts program this past Spring. She shared that she is now praying about where God wants her next!

view

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

