In A Moment

smashed carIn February 16, I had an accident of such magnitude that I truly think it is a miracle that I am alive and in good condition. God has been very gracious to me and my family. This incident serves to remind us that we have no control over anything. Everything can change in a second. Today we are here and tomorrow or within an hour is unknown (James 4: 13-15), so we should live each day to the honor and glory of our Lord Jesus, for He is worthy!

One of my favorite verses is Ecclesiastes 7:14 “In the day of prosperity be joyful, But in the day of adversity consider: Surely God has appointed the one as well as the other, So that man can find out nothing that will come after him.” God allows us to have good days and bad days, precisely so that we do not know what our future is so that we depend on Him alone. Surely, February 16 was not a good day, so I have to “consider.”

The first thing that comes to mind is the mercy of God. When the car started spinning in the air and hit the floor over and over, I was conscious the whole time. I began to pray, and basically my prayer was, “Lord, have mercy on me.” While I thought I was going to die, I was never afraid of death. As Christians we know that our death is getting to be with our Lord Jesus, and that heaven is a wonderful place, but I really did not want to go there yet. I have a wife that I love very much and two young children whom I want to enjoy and not leave alone. There are many people who want to die (or be taken at the rapture), but one of the most wonderful gifts that God has given us is the gift of life, so we should appreciate it, love it, enjoy it and offer it to the Lord.

The day after the accident, I thanked God for “one more day of life” that God allowed me to live. The Apostle Paul said in Philippians 1:21-26 “For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain. 22But if I live on in the flesh, this will mean fruit from my labor; yet what I shall choose I cannot tell. 23For I am hard-pressed between the two, having a desire to depart and be with Christ, which is far better. 24Nevertheless to remain in the flesh is more needful for you. 25And being confident of this, I know that I shall remain and continue with you all for your progress and joy of faith, 26that your rejoicing for me may be more abundant in Jesus Christ by my coming to you again” Paul acknowledges that although Heaven is much better, there is an urgent need here on earth, and he put his desire to go to heaven aside for a moment.

Paul also speaks of Epaphroditus and the mercy of God to let him live in Philippians 2:27 “For indeed he was sick almost unto death; but God had mercy on him, and not only on him but on me also, lest I should have sorrow upon sorrow.” God knows that heaven is a beautiful place, yet he had mercy on Epaphroditus and Paul (not adding more sadness to him). In the same way I believe God was merciful to me, and also with my family and my loved ones.

Something else I have been meditating on these days after the accident is that God is Sovereign. Many people sent me messages saying “God is good” when they realize that I was okay and doing well, and it is true, especially in light of what I just wrote. He was merciful, but I also thought that even if something would have happened, or if I would have died, God is still good. He is good, whether we are going through what feels to us like adverse circumstances or not. There are people whom I love and who serve the Lord greatly. They are sick with cancer. Some people have served the Lord bringing much glory and much fruit, and they have died. God is Sovereign, He knows what is best…But, He is more interested in His purpose and His glory than in our comfort. So, He is going to allow certain things to happen that we do not like, do not understand, and that we do not want to happen. But together with Paul we can be confident that “We know that for those who love God all things work together for good, that is, for those who are called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28).

So having a Great Sovereign and Merciful God, let us live our lives in a way, that when we reach our final moment (“when” and in whatever circumstances we find ourselves) we can say with all our heart, “for I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand. 7I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing” (2 Timothy 4: 6-8).

May God bless you all, with love,

Alex Gulart

Alex & His wife Deltha serve under Grace Ministries International. Alex is from Uruguay & Deltha is from Mexico. Their life together started in Uruguay where they worked full time in God’s work in Iglesia Biblica de Gracia in Montevideo. They went to Baptist Theological Seminary to get an education that helped them develop their ministry. God blessed them with two beautiful children,  Ainhoa (2011) and Bastian (2013). They are currently in the States traveling to churches for conferences but will be going back to where were before, living in Paraguay starting a new work under Grace Ministries International.

11430_10153145706501350_3002029879228694268_n10951612_10153145706111350_6301005102444237377_n

Leave a Reply

