Soaring Seed-Galatians 5:1

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”                  Galatians 5:1

Image

In the mornings I sit on the back cement “porch” of our little home here in Nagarote and I talk to God and just rest in His presence. For the past several weeks God has brought these racquetball size airborne seeds to my attention. These seeds are surrounded by soft white hairs that help them float on the breeze. As I watch a seed near a bush or a wall, I wonder if it will get its hairs stuck there and affix itself there. Most times, the little seed gets dangerously close to the obstacle and then a draft of wind carries it up and away. So many little hairs make it possible for the seed to take to flight, yet also make it possible for the seed to get stuck in a place where it will not be able to grow. I do not know the name of these little seeds, but I call them my Galatians 5:1 seeds, because God uses them to remind me to live, to soar in the freedom that Christ has purchased for me. God reminds me not to take up another yoke, another worry. For me, the yoke or the burden is often in the form of a worry. This worry steals my freedom to live the abundant life Jesus came to give me. Yet my flesh is so tempted to fixate on one worry until God resolves it for me and then immediately look for something else to worry about. I must cast these worries on Him and let Him lift me up to fly again and live the abundant life!

Written by Sally Roth who lives as a missionary in Nagarote, Nicaragua with her husband Jeff. They have two daughters in college in the States. They moved to Nicaragua in January after time spent in Costa Rica at Spanish Language school and after serving as missionaries in Zambia since 1999. Much like they did in Zambia, they are now serving the Lord through ministering to the deaf. We are thankful for their partnership in the ministry and their sensitive hearts to the Lord. Please continue to lift the Roths up to the Lord in your prayers.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

